President Biden begins to build his Cabinet with many candidates still awaiting confirmation

Shayna Tilles, Arts & Reviews Editor

As the Biden administration begins its freshman year in office, a new Cabinet has been confirmed to help lead the country. The following are a list of notable, confirmed Cabinet members. 

Vice President: Kamala Harris

Kamala Harris has recently made history as the first female, Black, and South Asian vice president. Prior to her vice presidential election, Harris served as a U.S. Senator from 2017 to 2021 and ran for President during the 2020 Presidential Election, in which she dropped out during the Democratic Primary. She is noted to be the first female and Black Attorney General of California and first Black woman to serve in the U.S. Senate from California. 

Secretary of State: Antony Blinken

Antony Blinken first served under the Obama administration as the Deputy Secretary of State, Principal Deputy of the National Security Advisor, and as an assistant to the President. Under Obama’s first term, he also served as Biden’s national security advisor.

Secretary of Treasury: Janet Yellen

Janet Yellen is the first woman to ever serve as the Secretary of Treasury. She was also the first woman to have chaired the Federal Reserve. From 1997 to 1998, she also chaired the White House Council of Economic Advisors.

Secretary of Defense: Gen. Lloyd Austin

General Lloyd Austin is the first Black person to ever serve as the U.S. Secretary of Defense. He is a retired four-star general and served as a 12th commander of the United States Central Command from 2013 to 2016.

Attorney General: Merrick Garland

Appointed by President Clinton in 1997, Garland is a federal judge in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the DC circuit. In 2016, Garland was nominated by President Obama to fill the Supreme Court vacancy after the passing of Justice Antonin Scalia, but his hearings and required vote in the chamber was withheld by former Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell.

Secretary of Transportation: Pete Buttegieg

Buttigieg, the former mayor of South Bend, Indiana, made history as the first openly LGBTQ+ Cabinet secretary to be approved by the Senate. At 38 years old, he is also the youngest member to be nominated for Biden’s Cabinet. He ran for President during the 2020 Presidential Election, however, he dropped out early in the race. 

Secretary of Homeland Security: Alejandro Mayorkas

Mayorkas is the first Latino immigrant to hold the position of Secretary of Homeland Security. Under the Obama administration, he served as Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security and as director of the Department of Homeland Security’s United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Secretary of Veterans Affairs: Denis McDonough

During the Obama administration’s second term, McDonough served as Chief of Staff and Deputy National Security Advisor. He also chaired the National Security Council’s Deputies Committee, served as Chief of Staff for the National Security Staff and was the Deputy National  Security Advisor.

The following are a list of members awaiting confirmation:

Secretary of Interior: Deb Haaland

Secretary of Agriculture: Tom Vilsack

Secretary of Commerce: Gina Raimondo

Secretary of Labor: Marty Walsh

Secretary of Health and Human Services: Xavier Becerra

Secretary of Housing and Urban Development: Marcia Fudge

Secretary of Energy: Jennifer Granholm

Secretary of Education: Miguel Cardona